Call for applications

Applications should be sent using the registration form no later than January 15th 2023

We hope to bring together researchers and innovators from all areas of linguistics, language research, and language technology. On the one hand, we want linguists and language researchers who are keen to imagine how future technologies may influence their research. On the other hand, we want language technology developers ready to learn more about linguistics and language use.

40 fully funded places are available for this Training School.

Equal opportunities

LITHME is an equal opportunities research network. We also strongly encourage applications from people with disabilities or other access issues. We will make all reasonable accommodations to ensure equal access.

Fees and reimbursement

There is no participation fee.

Accommodation, travels under 100 kilometres, and meals will be covered by the COST Action in a form of Daily allowance. The Daily allowance will be 120€/day for this Training school. Long-distance travels over 100 kilometers will be covered based on invoices. Also Visa fees will be reimbursed.

Note that the participants are required to pay for flights, accommodation etc. themselves. The reimbursement will be processed after the training school and can take up to a month. Expenses will be reimbursed in the end, but we are aware this condition from our funders can be prohibitive. We want to be clear about this gap so that nobody is compromised financially.

Eligibility for reimbursement

To be eligible for reimbursement, the participant has to be from COST member country or from a COST Near Neighbour country. You can check the countries from COST website here or from list below. Within those countries, according to COST’s rules, anyone is eligible – anyone at all – as long as they ‘have an affiliation’, that is, if they are employed by a company, enrolled in a study/research programme, registered as a volunteer, etc. with any legal entity (any officially registered organisation).

Full member countries include: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, The Netherlands, The Republic of North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, and United Kingdom.

Israel is a Cooperating Member. South Africa is a Partner Member. 

The COST Near Neighbour countries include: Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Jordan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Russia*, Syria, and Tunisia.

Participant from other countries can apply if they have other source of funding.

*As of 6 May 2022 until further notice, measures are taken to suspend cooperation with Russia for the execution of the COST Actions and COST activities. Amongst these measures, participation and eligibility of COST Action participants affiliated to a legal entity established in Russia are suspended for all COST Actions and COST activities.

Scroll to Top
Skip to content